Kev Brady – Stand Up Paddling Sri Lanka 

It’s time for another adventure

On December 6th, 2016 I fly to Colombo, Sri Lanka with little more than a Red Paddle Co 13’2 Explorer stand-up paddle board (SUP) and a hammock. I will hike up over 2200 metres into the mountains of Horton Plains National Park to find the source of The Mahaweli River, the longest river in Sri Lanka. There I will begin paddling its 208 mile length through the jungle to The Bay of Bengal. Once I reach the largest bay in the world I will attempt to SUP Sri Lanka’s entire coastline, a further 800 miles. I will be wild camping throughout and completely solo – although people are welcome to join! Hopefully I’ll finish this within four months.

The conditions will be challenging: temperatures over 30C, monsoon rains and winds and days with no civilisation. What really excites me are the animals I may encounter along the way: monkeys, snakes (including vipers & cobras), tarantulas, scorpions, leopards, elephants, sharks, dolphins, whales, turtles and huge crocodiles. That last one scares me more than anything – hopefully they won’t be interested in a 13ft SUP, ladened with bags cruising down the middle of the river!

For me, this is adventure in its purest form. There is very little information out there on The Mahaweli, especially its upper stretches. There could be many waterfalls and whitewater sections. From city, to mountains, to jungle, to coast, I am venturing into the unknown with the sole purpose to explore and experience.

I’ll be trying my best to capture this journey through videos and blogs which I will share here whenever I reach civilisation. Wish me luck!
http://www.kevbrady.com/

Leave a Reply

